Pop Song Dissection – Deceptacon – Le Tigre


Who took the bomp?

Every day and night
Every day and night
I can see your disco disco dick is sucking my heart out of my mind
I’m outta time
I’m outta fuckin time
I’m a gasoline gut with a vaseline mind, but
Wanna disco?
Wanna see me disco?
Let me hear you depoliticise my rhyme.
One! Two! Three! Four!
You got what you been asking for.
You’re so policy free and you’re fantasy wheels and everything you think
and everything you feel is alright, alright, alright, alright, alright.

I take you home, now watch me get you hot
You’re just a parrot and you’re screaming and you’re shouting
More crackers please, more crackers please
You want what you want but you don’t wanna be on your knees
Who does your… who does your hair?

Who took the bomp from the bompalompalomp?
Who took the ram from the ramalamadingdong?
Who took the bomp from the bompalompalomp?
Who took the ram from the ramalamadingdong?

How are you?
Fine, thank you.
How are you?
Fine, thank you.

You bought a new van the first year of your band.
You’re cool and I hardly wanna say “not” because I’m so bored
that I’ll be entertained even by a stupid, fucking linoleum floor, linoleum floor
Your lyrics are dumb like a linoleum floor
I’ll walk on it
I’ll walk all over you
Walk on it, walk on it, walk on, One, Two!

Who? Who? Who? Who?

Who took the bomp from the bompalompalomp?
Who took the ram from the ramalamadingdong?
Who took the bomp from the bompalompalomp?
Who took the ram from the ramalamadingdong?

See you later
See you later
See you later
See you later

I think Deceptacon has some depth not immediately seen.  Starting with the title referring to evil Transformers who look like one thing and turn into another.  I believe this song is about being very physically attracted to someone that may look interesting on the outside but turns out vapid, boring and/or idiotic.  Anyone who has been in this situation, especially while they are young, knows what torment this can be.  Your hormones and eyes draw you to them and their idiocy and/or personality repels you.  It can be very confusing and never ends well. You reach a breaking point and have to find a way to end it.  Good sex is temporary; stupidity forever.

I believe Le Tigre’s use of the lyrics for “Book of Love” are telling.  It is a stupid song with idiotic lyrics but can be catchy, just like the man she is talking about.  Attractive/repellent.  Sucking the mind out of the heart/sucking the heart out of the mind.  The latter is in the lyrics and comes right before “I’m out of time”.  His idiocy has finally started getting to her.  While his dick may have attracted her, it is a “disco disco dick” with disco being a way of saying shallow.  A “gasoline gut and vaseline mind” is a brilliant descriptor.  On a gut level she is disgusted with him but has sex on the brain.

This person depoliticises her rhymes and is ‘policy free’.  He has no thoughts on social issues or politics.  “You got what you been asking for” should be read, in my opinion, with “you’ve” replacing “you”.  He contains the attributes that he wants/wants someone like him and he is trying to dumb her down to his level (“Wanna see me disco”) to make her fit his needs.  I suspect she played along for a while while the sex was really hot.  He is also in a band and trying to get her to dumb down her lyrics.  She has grown to seriously dislike him (and possibly dislike herself for getting into this mess) and his lack of depth.  He is boring and has nothing to say but small-talk (“How are you?  Fine thanks!  Who does your hair?”)

This is all just my opinion derived from listening to this song too much.  What do you think?

Whacha wanna say?

